european union

The European Union opens its borders to 15 countries

As of today, July 1, the European Union opens its borders to travelers from 15 non-European countries.

Pending today's final approval by EU member states, the initial list of safe countries is composed of:

Australia, Algeria, Canada, China, South Korea, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and Rwanda.

Important countries such as the USA, Russia, Brazil and the vast majority of Latin American countries have been left off this list. It also remains to be seen if China remains on this list, which will depend on whether they allow the entry of European citizens, i.e. reciprocity.

The key epidemiological factors that have been taken into account to evaluate the opening of borders with countries outside the European framework are: number of new cases per 100,000 inhabitants; trend of new infections; as well as the health response of each country to this pandemic: testing, surveillance, tracking, treatment, information provided, etc.

On the other hand, the Spanish Minister of Foreign Affairs, Arancha González Laya, announced that the list of countries will be reviewed periodically, both to expand it and to close borders again in the event that a country considered safe worsens its epidemiological conditions.

Via: travel manager magazine

If you need any help when traveling you can access the following portal and request a personalized consultation:

business trips
Scroll to Top